Skip to main content

A panel of judges selected ten graduate students to advance to the Three Minute Thesis competition, to be held on October 11 in Bondurant Hall, Room G100. The Three Minute Thesis competition is open to the public. Founded at the University of Queensland, the Three Minute Thesis competition assists current graduate students with fostering effective presentation and communication skills. Participants have just three minutes to explain the breadth and significance of their research project to a non-specialist audience.

Top-ten finalists:

  • Adams Bailey (Department of Public Policy; College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Rachel DuMez (Curriculum in genetics and molecular biology) 
  • Lauren Herlihy ’05 (’12 MSN; UNC School of Nursing)
  • Nicole Rose Lukesh (UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy)
  • Colleen McAlister (’16 MA; Department of Romance Studies; College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Logan Mitchell (Department of Philosophy; College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Nicole Ochandarena (UNC School of Medicine; Neuroscience)
  • Ellen Risemberg (UNC School of Medicine; Curriculum in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology)
  • Cullen Walsh (Department of Chemistry; College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Mackenna Wood (’20 MS; Department of Physics and Astronomy; College of Arts and Sciences)

Panel of judges for the final competition:

Debbie Boles Vice president, research and development LabCorp
Kyle Hall Representative, (District 91) N.C. General Assembly
Pam Hemminger Mayor Town of Chapel Hill
Ed Samulski Professor emeritus UNC-Chapel Hill
Barbara Stephenson Vice provost for global affairs UNC-Chapel Hill
Comments are closed.